Tennis News
The Official Tennis Newswire

Moya Edges Edberg For Record Sixth Straight Title in Zurich





March 25, 2012



© 2012 Daily Tennis News Wire -
Carlos Moya won a record sixth successive title on the ATP Champions Tour, fighting back to win a thrilling final 3-6, 7-5, 10-8 against Stefan Edberg in the BNP Paribas Zurich Open.

Moya, last year's No.1 player in the South African Airways Champions Tour Rankings, is on top again this year, but he was pushed all the way by Edberg.

“It was such an honor for me to play against Stefan today," said Moya afterwards. "He was my idol for all my childhood, everyone who knows me knows that, even though our games couldn’t be more different. Playing him is my best memory from the Champions Tour so far.

“I came very close to losing today. For most of the match I thought I was going to lose and then the match just turned. It was a miracle that I was able to win really but I’m so happy that I did. I would have been devastated to lose.

“I think it’s good for the Tour to have this competition. It is a challenge for everyone else to beat me. I am happy that I still play well and I am in good shape but I am not unbeatable. I have lost twice on the Tour in the past year and there are definitely guys out there like Philippoussis, Safin, Enqvist that play at the same level, especially on a faster court.”

Edberg was disappointed, but motivated afterwards.

"Carlos was just that bit better than me today," he said. "It was close though, so watch out for next time Carlos!”

In the 3rd/4th place play-off, Mark Philippoussis overcame Marat Safin 6-3, 6-3, while in the junior tournament that runs alongside the Champions tournament, the victor was Kyle Edmund. Edmund then teamed up with his compatriot Tim Henman to win the doubles.

RESULTS - Saturday 24th March
Mark Philippoussis d. Marat Safin 6-3, 6-3
Carlos Moya d. Stefan Edberg 3-6, 7-5, 10-8 (Champions’ Tie Break)

South African Airways Rankings 2010 (after three events)
1 Carlos Moya 800
2 John McEnroe 400
3 Stefan Edberg 380
4 = Ivan Lendl 300
4 = Magnus Larsson 300
6 Pat Cash 220
7 Mikael Pernfors 210
8 = Mark Philippoussis 200
8 = Michael Chang 200
8 = Goran Ivanisevic 200
11 = Marat Safin 150
11 = Thomas Muster 150
13 = Johan Kriek 80
13 = Michael Stich 80
13 = Tim Henman 80
16 = Jimmy Arias 60
16 = Aaron Krickstein 60
16 = Wayne Ferreira 60
16 = Henri Leconte 60


Copyright © 2012 Daily Tennis News Wire. All rights reserved.