Tennis News
The Official Tennis Newswire

Seeds announced for 2014 Davis Cup World Group play-offs






Seeds announced for 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group play-offs


The ITF has announced the seeds for the Draw for the 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas World Group play-offs. The Draw will take place on Tuesday 8 April at the ITF offices in London at 11:00 local time (10:00 GMT). The seeds are based on the new ITF Davis Cup Nations Ranking of 7 April:

The eight seeded nations in the World Group play-offs are:

Serbia (1)
Spain (2)
Argentina (3)
Canada (4)
USA (5)
Australia (6)
Croatia (7)
Belgium (8)

Each of the seeds will be drawn against one of the following unseeded nations:

Slovak Republic

The 2014 World Group play-offs will take place alongside the World Group semifinals on 12-14 September. The eight winning nations will contest the 2015 World Group.

The line-up for the World Group play-offs was confirmed when Brazil, Croatia, Colombia, India, Israel, Slovak Republic, Ukraine and Uzbekistan all won their Zone Group I second round ties on 4-6 April. They joined the losers from the 2014 World Group first round ties.

Copyright 2014 Daily Tennis News Wire. All rights reserved.