Tennis News
The Official Tennis Newswire

Seedings For Wimbledon Have A Few Surprises






The seedings for the Wimbledon Championships have been announced and the All England Club’s unique seeding formula has dictated defending champion Andy Murray has been promoted from fifth place on the ATP World Tour rankings to the Championships’ no.3 seed.

Therefore home favorite Murray cannot meet Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal or Roger Federer before the semi-finals. Last year’s runner up Djokovic overtakes world no.1 Nadal as top seed, with seven times winner Federer fourth.

Australian Open champion Stan Wawrinka suffers because of Murray’s promotion, dropping to the no.5 spot despite his third ranking. He commented: “Wimbledon, they do what they want. For me it's fine.

"I knew that with my past two years on grass I didn't have any results, so for sure my ranking will drop a little bit for the seedings.

"At the end of the day, it doesn't change much. You have to play well. You have to start the tournament well if you want to go far, and that's simple."

The biggest beneficiary of Wimbledon's seedings formula is Feliciano Lopez who on Sunday was runner-up at the Aegon Championships at London’s Queen’s Club. The Spaniard moves from 25th on the ATP list to 19th seed at Wimbledon. Queen’s champion Dimitrov is seeded 11th.

Wimbledon is the only tournament in the world that chooses to differ from the world rankings when it comes to the order of men’s seeds. The formula takes a player’s ATP World Tour ranking, adds all points earned on grass in the previous 12 months and includes 75% of points earned from his best grass-court event in the preceding year.  It does not apply for the women’s singles.

Men’s Singles
1. Novak Djokovic
2. Rafael Nadal
3. Andy Murray
4. Roger Federer
5. Stan Wawrinka
6. Tomas Berdych
7. David Ferrer
8. Milos Raonic
9. John Isner
10.Kei Nishikori
11.Grigor Dimitrov
12.Ernests Gulbis
13.Richard Gasquet
14.Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
15.Jerzy Janowicz
16.Fabio Fognini
17.Mikhail Youzhny
18.Fernando Verdasco
19.Feliciano Lopez
20.Kevin Anderson
21. Alexandr Dolgopolov
22.Philipp Kohlschreiber
23.Tommy Robredo
24.Gael Monfils
25.Nicolas Almagro
26.Andreas Seppi
27.Marin Cilic
28.Roberto Bautista Agut
29.Guillermo Garcia-Lopez
30.Ivo Karlovic
31.Marcel Granollers
32.Dmitry Tursunov

 Ladies’ Singles
1. Serena Williams
2. Li Na
3. Simona Halep
4. Agnieszka Radwanska
5. Maria Sharapova
6. Petra Kvitova
7. Jelena Jankovic
8. Victoria Azarenka
9. Angelique Kerber
10.Dominika Cibulkova
11.Ana Ivanovic
12.Flavia Pennetta
13.Eugenie Bouchard
14.Sara Errani
15.Carla Suarez Navarro
16.Caroline Wozniacki
17.Samantha Stosur
18.Sloane Stephens
19.Sabine Lisicki
20.Andrea Petkovic
21.Roberta Vinci
22.Ekaterina Makarova
23.Lucie Safarova
24.Kirsten Flipkens
25.Alize Cornet
26.Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova
27.Garbine Mugaruza
28.Svetlana Kuznetsova
29.Sorana Cirstea
30.Venus Williams
31.Klara Koukalova
32.Elena Vesnina


Copyright © 2014 Daily Tennis News Wire. All rights reserved.