Tie Break Tens Groups Decided; James Ward To Be Alternate

Notice: Undefined variable: page_title in /home/tennisne/public_html/wp-content/themes/dante-child/single.php on line 205

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.

Tie Break Tens Tennis News

Andy Murray will take on Davis Cup team-mate Kyle Edmund and World No.7 David Ferrer after the Tie Break Tens groups were revealed on Friday. In the other group, John McEnroe will face Tim Henman and a qualifier from the Champions Tennis play-offs, which are being contested on Friday and Saturday afternoon by James Blake, Younes El Aynaoui, Fernando Gonzalez and Xavier Malisse.

A third member of Great Britain’s victorious Davis Cup team – James Ward – will be the alternate for Tie Break Tens, the new, quick-fire tennis format which will launch at 6pm tomorrow.

McEnroe defeated Mats Wilander in a Champions Tennis exhibition last night, and is in good form.

“Part of these guys is thinking ‘give me a piece of McEnroe, he’s going to be half the speed’,” said McEnroe. “The other part is thinking ‘how embarrassing would it be to lose to Mac at 56?!’ So I have that going for me. When you’re playing an entire match in 10 minutes you have the proverbial puncher’s chance. So Andy, I may be a bit older than you, but I hope you’re ready, because I will be!”

The players will be divided into two groups of three players, with each player playing two round-robin matches. The top two in each group will then advance to the semifinals. All matches will be a first-to-ten-point tie-break. The winner of Tie Break Tens will receive $250,000.

Group 1
Tim Henman
John McEnroe
Champions Tennis qualifier (Blake, El Aynaoui, Gonzalez or Malisse)

Group 2
Andy Murray
David Ferrer
Kyle Edmund


From Saturday, 6pm – all matches are followed by

1. Tim Henman vs. John McEnroe
2. Kyle Edmund vs. Andy Murray
3. Tim Henman vs. Qualifier
4. David Ferrer vs. Andy Murray
5. John McEnroe vs. Qualifier
6. Kyle Edmund vs. David Ferrer
7. Semi-final 1 (Winner of Group 1 vs. Runner-up Group 2)
8. Semi-final 2 (Winner of Group 2 vs. Runner-up Group 1)
9. 3rd/4th Place Play-off
10. Final

Sky Sports 2 – Saturday 1pm – 4pm (Champions Tennis & Tie Break Tens Qualifiers)
Sky Sports 3 – Saturday 6pm – 9.15pm (Tie Break Tens)

Rest of the World
Spain, Portugal, Netherlands etc – http://www.tiebreaktens.com/live-coverage/

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.