Oracle/ITA Division II Fall 2015 National Rankings Released

Notice: Undefined variable: page_title in /home/tennisne/public_html/wp-content/themes/dante-child/single.php on line 205

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.

ITA Tennis News

Defending NCAA Division II national team champions Barry and Armstrong State hold the top-ranked spots in the men’s and women’s 2015-16 Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis Division II Fall National Rankings, respectively, as announced on Monday by Oracle and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

Barry, winners of two of the past three NCAA titles, defeated No. 2 Hawai´i Pacific for the 2015 NCAA championship. Armstrong State is No. 3, West Florida, the 2014 NCAA champion, is No. 4 and Lander enters at the No. 5 position.

Like Barry, Armstrong State has dominated the women’s team championship in recent years, winning six NCAA titles in the past eight years. The Pirates defeated the Buccaneers in the 2015 NCAA Division II National Championship match. Following Armstrong State in the top 5 national team rankings are BYU-Hawai´i (No. 2), Saint Leo University (No. 3), Barry (No. 4) and Lynn (No. 5).

Jan Meyer of Azusa Pacific ended 2014-15 as Division II’s top-ranked men’s singles player, is slotted in the No. 1 position for the 2015-16 initial rankings. Meyer won the Division II men’s singles title at the 2015 USTA/ITA National Small College Championships in October in Sumter, South Carolina. Pablo Gor of Armstrong State is No. 2, moving up from his year-end No. 7 ranking. Alberto Barroso-Campos of Saint Leo (No. 3), Anton Bettink of Rollins (No. 4) and Ahmed Triki of Barry (No. 5) round out the top 5.

Jui Mao and Ofir Ginat of Concordia (N.Y.) comprise the nation’s top-ranked men’s doubles team. The duo took home medalist honors at the 2015 NSCC. Gor and Myer find themselves positioned in the top 3 of the doubles rankings as well. Gor teams up with Ignacio Hernandez for Armstrong and they are No. 2 team in the country, just ahead of Azusa Pacific’s Gor and Pascal Engel at No. 3.

In the women’s singles national rankings, Alejandra Cisneros of Armstrong State moves into the No. 1 slot after ending the 2014-15 season ranked second in the nation. Cisneros won the Division II women’s singles title at the NSCC. Dallas Zhang of BYU-Hawai´i is No. 2 after completing last year as the division’s top-ranked player. Natalia Siedliska of Saint Leo University (No. 3), Lena Lutzeier of Armstrong State (No. 4) and Anaeve Pain of Barry (No. 5) complete the top 5.

Diana Bogolii and Rosalie Willig of Lynn won the 2015 NSCC Division II and Super Bowl titles to advance to the 2015 National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, and earned the nation’s top ranking in the process.

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.