2016 Davis Cup Draw Seeds Announced

Notice: Undefined variable: page_title in /home/tennisne/public_html/wp-content/themes/dante-child/single.php on line 205

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.

Great Britain and Belgium head the seeds for the Draw for the World Group of the 2016 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas, which will take place at the ITF AGM in Santiago, Chile on Wednesday 23 September at 19:00 local time (22:00 GMT). The Draw will be streamed live on www.daviscup.com.

The draws for 2016 Americas Zone Group I, Asia/Oceania Zone Groups I and II, and Europe/Africa Zone Group I will also take place in Santiago. The draws for Americas Zone Group II and Europe/Africa Zone Group II will be held following the remaining Davis Cup play-off ties on 30 October – 1 November.

According to the Davis Cup Regulations, the two finalist nations are seeded No. 1 and No. 2 in the World Group for the following year, and will be drawn in opposite halves. Seeds 3-8 are in accordance with the latest ITF Davis Cup Nations Ranking of 21 September.

World Group

1. Great Britain

2. Belgium

3. Czech Republic

4. Switzerland

5. France

6. Argentina

7. Serbia

8. Australia

The seeded nations will be drawn against the remaining World Group nations: Canada, Croatia, Germany, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Poland and USA.

[Please note that Great Britain and USA, and Canada and Japan will both be drawn in opposite halves of the draw as per the Davis Cup Regulation that states “If two Nations have met each other in two successive years in the first round, in the third year they will be drawn in different halves of the draw.”]

Seeds for the Zone Group I and Group II competitions are also based on the latest Davis Cup Nations Ranking.

Americas Zone Group I

1. Brazil

2. Colombia

Remaining Nations: Winner of Barbados v Uruguay, Chile, Dominican Republic and Ecuador


Asia/Oceania Zone Group I

1. India

2. Uzbekistan

Remaining Nations: China P.R., Korea Rep., New Zealand and Pakistan


Asia/Oceania Zone Group II

1. Chinese Taipei

2. Thailand

3. Philippines

4. Indonesia

Remaining Nations: Kuwait, Malaysia, Sri Lanka and Vietnam


Europe/Africa Zone Group I

1. Spain

2. Slovakia

3. Netherlands

4. Ukraine

Remaining Nations: Austria, Winner of Denmark v Sweden, Hungary, Israel, Winner of Lithuania v Slovenia, Portugal, Romania and Russia


The World Group dates for the 2016 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas are as follows:

World Group first round: 4-6 March

World Group quarterfinals: 15-17 July

World Group semifinals and play-offs: 16-18 September

World Group Final: 25-27 November

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.