Lucie Safarova Earns Final Spot for 2015 BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore

Notice: Undefined variable: page_title in /home/tennisne/public_html/wp-content/themes/dante-child/single.php on line 205

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.

Lucie Safarova Tennis News
Photo by Getty Images (WTA)

The Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) announced today that Lucie Safarova has qualified for this year’s BNP Paribas WTA Finals Singapore presented by SC Global. She joins Simona Halep, Garbiñe Muguruza, Maria Sharapova, Petra Kvitova, Agnieszka Radwanska, Angelique Kerber and Flavia Pennetta in the singles field of eight.

Safarova will make her tournament debut at the WTA Finals. She has also qualified in doubles this year with partner Bethanie Mattek-Sands.

“I am really excited to qualify for the WTA Finals for the first time,” said Safarova. “It has been a dream year and to be one of the eight qualifiers in singles and also compete in the doubles is something that makes me very proud. There have already been so many highlights this year, and I hope to finish it playing some more great tennis in front of the amazing Singapore crowd.”

Safarova won her sixth career singles title, and first at the Premier-level, at the Qatar Total Open – Doha. She reached two further singles finals, her first career Grand Slam final at Roland Garros and the Connecticut Open. Partnering with Mattek-Sands, Safarova won two Grand Slam doubles titles at the Australian Open and Roland Garros and two WTA Premier titles at the Porsche Tennis Grand Prix – Stuttgart and Rogers Cup – Toronto.

Serena Williams (USA) – Withdrew
Simona Halep (ROU) – Qualified
Garbiñe Muguruza (ESP) – Qualified
Maria Sharapova (RUS) – Qualified
Petra Kvitova (CZE) – Qualified
Agnieszka Radwanska (POL) – Qualified
Angelique Kerber (GER) – Qualified
Flavia Pennetta (ITA) – Qualified
Lucie Safarova (CZE) – Qualified
Timea Bacsinszky (SUI) – Alternate
Venus Williams (USA) – Alternate

Martina Hingis/Sania Mirza (SUI/IND) – Qualified
Bethanie Mattek-Sands/ Lucie Safarova (USA/CZE) – Qualified
Casey Dellacqua/Yaroslava Shvedova (AUS/KAZ) – Qualified
Ekaterina Makarova/Elena Vesnina (RUS/RUS) – Withdrew
Timea Babos /Kristina Mladenovic (HUN/FRA) – Qualified
Caroline Garcia/Katarina Srebotnik (FRA/SLO) – Qualified
Chan Hao-Ching/Chan Yung-Jan (TPE/TPE) – Qualified
Raquel Kops-Jones/Abigail Spears (USA/USA) – Qualified
Andrea Hlavackova/Lucie Hradecka (CZE/CZE) – Qualified
Garbiñe Muguruza/Carla Suárez Navarro (ESP/ESP) – Alternate

Copyright © 2015. No duplication is permitted without permission from Bob Larson Tennis.