Tennis News
The Official Tennis Newswire



La Costa TV commentators named
   

Tennis News Links
Collector Tennis Ball Cans
Hard to Find Racquets
Free Breaking Tennis News
Daily Tennis $37 - 3 months
Advertise on TennisNews.com

 

 
 
The Acura Classic (July 28 – August 5 at the La Costa Resort & Spa), today announced its lineup of on-air commentators for the tournament’s 3-day coverage on both ESPN2 and The Tennis Channel. For the first time, veteran sportscaster Ted Robinson, lead announcer for NBC’s coverage of both Wimbledon and the French Open since 2000, will provide play-by-play commentary of the Acura Classic on ESPN2. He will be joined by on-air hosts Pam Shriver and Mary Joe Fernandez. The Tennis Channel’s coverage will be anchored by Leif Shiras and Katrina Adams. Coverage on both networks will include three days of matches from Friday, August 3 though Sunday August 5.

In a move that will add another exciting element for TV viewers, this year’s Acura Classic will feature on-court coaching for the first time. Players will be allowed to converse with their designated coach during each set break, as well as when opponents call for their trainer or take other emergency breaks. On-court coaches, who will be seated conveniently near the courtside, will be equipped with microphones for all matches aired on television, and the sound will be broadcast live. Additionally, the Acura Classic will again employ live Hawk-Eye “Instant Replay” technology on this year’s ESPN2 broadcasts.

Highlights of this year’s Acura Classic coverage will include three live broadcasts on ESPN2, including the Championship Final on Sunday, August 5th and a Semifinal Match on Saturday, August 4th. Additionally, for the first time this year Quarterfinal Matches will be televised on Friday, August 3rd on both The Tennis Channel and ESPN2. The Acura Classic is also part of the Sony Ericsson WTA Tour's exclusive Tier I international tennis package, which will reach a potential international viewership of over 457 million homes. The tournament will be televised in Australia, Europe, China, Japan, the Middle East, Russia, South America and South Africa.

Following is the broadcast TV schedule for the 2007 Acura Classic.

ESPN2

ESPN 2
Friday, August 3rd
8:00 PM PT/11:00 PM ET

ESPN 2
Saturday, August 4th
8:00 PM PT/11:00 PM ET

ESPN 2
Sunday, August 5th
2:00 PM PT/5 PM ET

The Tennis Channel

The Tennis Channel
Friday, August 3rd
11:00 AM PT/2:00 PM ET

The Tennis Channel
Saturday, August 4th
1:00 PM PT/4:00 PM ET

The Tennis Channel
Sunday, August 5th
Doubles Final
7:00 PM PT/10:00 PM ET



















 

Can't find what you're looking for? Try Google Search! 

Google

 

 

Forward This Article to a Friend

Back to Tennisnews.com Home Page