Tennis News
The Official Tennis Newswire

Seeds announced for 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Draw





Seeds announced for 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas Draw

Czech Republic and Serbia head the seeds for the Draw for the World Group of the 2014 Davis Cup by BNP Paribas.

The draws for 2014 Americas Zone Groups I and II, Asia/Oceania Zone Groups I and II and Europe/Africa Zone Group I will also take place in London. The draw for Europe/Africa Zone Group II will be held following the two remaining Europe/Africa Zone Group I play-off ties on 25-27 October.

According to the Davis Cup Regulations, the two finalist nations are seeded No. 1 and No. 2 in the World Group for the following year, and will be drawn in opposite halves. Seeds 3-8 are in accordance with the latest ITF Davis Cup Nations Ranking of 16 September.

World Group
1. Czech Republic
2. Serbia
3. Spain
4. Argentina
5. France
6. USA
7. Canada
8. Kazakhstan

The seeded nations will be drawn against the remaining World Group nations: Australia, Belgium, Germany, Great Britain, Italy, Japan, Netherlands, Switzerland

Seeds for the Zone Group I and Group II competitions are also based on the latest Davis Cup Nations Ranking.

Americas Zone Group I
1. Brazil
2. Colombia

Remaining Nations: Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Uruguay, Venezuela

Asia/Oceania Zone Group I
1. Uzbekistan
2. Korea, Rep.

Remaining Nations: China P.R, Chinese Taipei, India, New Zealand

Europe/Africa Zone Group I
1. Croatia
2. Austria
3. Israel
4. Ukraine

Remaining Nations: Denmark/Sweden, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia/South Africa, Slovak Republic, Slovenia

Americas Zone Group II
1. Chile
2. Mexico
3. Peru
4. El Salvador

Remaining Nations: Barbados, Bolivia, Guatemala, Paraguay

Asia/Oceania Zone Group II
1. Philippines
2. Indonesia
3. Thailand
4. Pakistan

Remaining Nations: Hong Kong, Kuwait, Sri Lanka, Vietnam

Copyright 2013 Daily Tennis News Wire. All rights reserved.